Finrone Systems attends the 2016 National Pig Awards at prestigious event in London

Finrone Systems were delighted to attend and support this year’s National Pig Awards, held in London on Wednesday 9th November 2016 at the Lancaster Hotel London.

This year’s awards received over 50 entries for the wide range of categories on offer, with judging beginning as far back as August 3. Judges for the event included:

Stewart Houston (Chair of Judges)

CBE for services to the pig industry, David Black Award winner, previous chairman of BPEX and NP.

Dr John Boyd

National pig technical manager for Forfarmers. He’s a commercial pig nutritionist with more than 30 years’ experience.

Mick Sloyan

Strategy director of AHDB Pork and deputy chief executive of AHDB. He has been with the levy body since its creation in 2001.

Sam Walton

Founding editor of Pig World, a former pig producer and published author.

John Lewis

Publisher and owner of Pig World.

David Owers

Long time customer of Finrone Systems, David won the Single Site Producer of the Year in the inaugural awards in 2015. He operates a 700-sow farrow-to-finish unit that’s part of a larger 4,000-acre estate that is mostly arable, as well as having a beef suckler herd and a racehorse breeding stud. The panel will benefit hugely from his “producer eyes”.

Rick Buckle

Winner of the Producer of the Year and Indoor Producer of the Year at the 2015 National Pig Awards.

Lizzie Wilson

NPA policy services officer, Lizzie Wilson, has worked in the UK pig industry for 12 years.

The National Pig Awards is now in its third year after a highly successful launch in 2014 and excellent 2015 competition. The awards are organised by Pig World in association with the NPA, AHDB Pork and the BPA.

Winners in 2016

Pig Award Winners 2016

The top prize of the 2016 National Pig Awards was claimed on by Bedfordshire-based Bedfordia Farms who operate three different indoor production sites in the county.

First named as 2016 Indoor Producer of the Year and then unveiled as the UK pig industry’s overall 2016 Producer of the Year, Bedfordia Farms’ Christian Andersen, was widely acclaimed by an enthusiastic gathering of fellow producers and industry leaders at the London Lancaster Hotel.

Suffolk-based Pear Tree Farm, where Richard Carless runs a 430-sow outdoor unit, claimed the 2016 Outdoor Producer of the Year award.

Other award winners at the event included:

Contract Finisher of the Year – Richard Clifton, Bradeley Farm, Market Drayton.
Technical Innovation of the Year – Adrian Lawson, Rattlerow Farms.
Investor in Training Award – Rattlerow Farms, Suffolk.
Producer Retailer of the Year – Sally Lugg, Primrose Herd, Cornwall.
Pedigree Breeder of the Year – Huw & Ela Roberts, Oinc Farm, Gwynedd.
Herd Productivity Award – Outdoor – Nigel and Gill Spalding, Elite Pigs, Norfolk.
Herd Productivity Award – Indoor – Bill Bramhill, JSR Farms, Southburn, East Yorkshire.
Trainee of the Year Award – Jess Graves, Shedden Farms, York.
Young Pig Farmer of the Year – Winner – Joe Stent, J.E. Stent & Son, Suffolk.
Young Pig Farmer of the Year – Highly Commended – Ruth Thomas, D.W. Filby & Son, Norfolk.
Stockman of the Year – Wesley Heard, WJ Watkins & Son, Devon.
Unit Manager of the Year – Gareth Virgo, J.E. Porter, Lincolnshire.
NPA AIG Member of the Year – Vetsonic.

On behalf of everyone at Finrone Systems, we would like to congratulate all the 2016 winners, with a special mention to those whom we have had the pleasure of working with over the years.

For more information about the event, please visit